More fish than we can fry – The Harris family

I have made two profound decisions this week:  #1 Stay-at-home moms don’t get paid near enough and #2 We got a lot of hay!  Amy’s grandmother passed away this past week and although it was expected, it hit right in the middle of my hay time crunch time.  So Amy and Trale’ headed to the northeast while I stayed to tackle the first hay crop and handle our older two children.  I found myself busier than a bee!

We had planted wheat into our alfalfa stand in the fall. Because of the drought conditions we weren’t sure what could happen and did God ever provide outside our expectations; in fact we considered cutting the wheat for harvest instead of for hay.  Late last week, we started mowing down our 250 acres of alfalfa that withstood last year’s conditions.  Normally, that would take us a short three days, but this year it took us about 6 days.  We typically drive the Hesston 8450 swather about 6 miles per hour but this year we slowed her down to between 1-4 miles per hour.  Then we get it dried out and ready to bale.  To bale alfalfa in southwest Oklahoma, the humidity needs to be just right or you will have hot hay and something can potentially catch fire but if it’s too dry, it will fall apart.  That being said, it’s just part of the farmers’ life to always follow the weather and when it’s right, it’s right.

Usually this time of the year the humidity gets right from 10 am – noon and typically from 7-9.  Every day is different and as hotter days roll on you will see more farmers sleeping in pickups beside a hay field waiting for the humidity to roll right usually around 2 am.

The view from my tractor cab while baling hay late into the night.

Reminds me of a story; One summer night I was heading to the hay fields driving around checking which ones would be ready first and swerved over to shine my lights in the field. Low and behold a sheriff’s car was up on the highway and decided I needed a sobriety test.  I believe he received the education that night!  He didn’t bother me again the rest of the summer.

Oh, back to my original thoughts, dad’s coming home and wants to start planting cotton!  I thought as hard as I was working in the hay fields things were looking pretty good ‘til grandpa reminded me we had only baled 30 acres and had 300 3X3X8!  That’s a lot of hay or as grandpa says a lot of fish to fry!  So, with all this going on and my big kids playing some softball and t-ball tournaments, things are plenty busy out here.  If you ever thought you wanted to see what this “farmer’s life” was all about.  Drop by we will give you “some fish to fry!”

Leave a Reply

