The heat, haying and hard work – The Bolen family

Alfalfa hay in windrows.

Alfalfa hay in windrows.

I hate to sound like a broken record, but our days just run together during the summer months.  Whether we are tending to our chickens or baling hay or messing with the sheep or whatever.

We have completed our third cutting on most all of our hay fields.  We had some rain early in June and the end of May, but I think we have been about three weeks with zero rain.  We did have a few days that the humidity and temperature were low but that quickly changed.  We are back to highs in the mid 90’s and humidity levels above 40 percent.

The alfalfa has been yielding pretty well, but I’ve been having to irrigate it more than I would like.  The bermuda grass is doing well with good yields as well.

Thinning the Bolens' thick patch of pecan trees.

Thinning the Bolens’ thick patch of pecan trees.

The picture of the pecan trees is something I have always put on the back burner.  In the fall of 1999, a neighbor who harvested nuts for a living had a large pile of nuts that didn’t make the grade for some reason.  I asked him what he was going to do with them, he said burn them probably.  I asked if I could haul them off and he told me to have at it.  I had a piece of ground that I thought needed trees on it, so I loaded this pile up and spread them with my poultry litter spreader and disked them in.  I really think two trees came up for every seed.  I couldn’t believe how thick of a stand I had.  So that fall I took the brush hog and made a sort of rows out of the thick stand, leaving about a two-foot strip of trees every twenty five feet or so and then every summer just kept mowing the same path.  So this summer I hired a guy with a mulcher attachment to thin in between them.  I’m sure I left them too thick, but I’m also thinking of digging some up to transplant to other places or sell.

Our cattle are doing well and we have almost decided which lamb each of our girls will be showing this fall and next spring.

Using a tedder to help bermudagrass  hay cure.

Using a tedder to help bermuda grass hay cure.

Leave a Reply

